1770 Captain James Cook named Cape Moreton, also naming the body of water north of Stradbroke Island Glass House Bay after naming the Glasshouse Mountains on the adjacent mainland.
1799 Flinders discovered that the land south of Cape Moreton was in fact an island and named it Moreton Island and Glass House Bay became Moreton Bay.
1848 Amity Point pilot station moved to Bulwer on Moreton Island. The township of Bulwer was named after Edward Bulwer Lytton, a novelist, playwright, British MP and Colonial Secretary at the time. Pilots at Bulwer guided ships into the channel.
1857 The iconic red and white banded Cape Moreton Lighthouse is lit on the Northern point of Moreton Island . The first and oldest standing lighthouse built in Queensland is constructed of sandstone quarried on the island and stands about 23 metres tall.
1865 Goats and pigs were left on the island by the navy as food for shipwrecked…
View original post 185 more words