Nina Simone. Mississippi Goddam. New York City. Carnegie Hall. 1964.

JAZZ IZZIN

Nina Simone. Mississippi Goddam. New York City. Carnegie Hall. 1964. 

“When every day is a matter of survival I don’t think you can help but be involved. Young people, black and white, know this. That’s why they’re so involved in politics. We will shape and mould this country, or it will not be moulded and shaped at all.

An artist’s duty, as far as I’m concerned, is to reflect the times…I choose to reflect the times and situations in which I find myself” Nina Simone. Interview. Down Beat. 1968. 

Simone had always included songs in her repertoire that drew upon her African-American origins (such as “Brown Baby” by Oscar Brown and “Zungo” by Michael Olatunji in her album Nina at the Village Gate in 1962).

On her debut album for Philips, Nina Simone in Concert (live recording, 1964), for the first time she openly addressed the racial inequality that was…

View original post 255 more words

