A Trace of Memory – A New, Free, and Ephemeral Thing

JamesRadcliffe.com

I make things all the time. Pieces of music, poetry, little collections of photographs, essays (impromptu dance routines) etc, etc. Some things grow into larger projects and some I make just to make.

One of my favourite things is to show up in the studio (can you see I have nothing up my sleeve?) and create a piece of music from the ground up in a single session. I call these pieces ‘fragments’.

I find working in this way a nice counterpoint to longer more involved efforts, it’s how I play, how I blow off steam.

At the last count I have literally hundreds of these pieces, all locked away in my digital vault gathering virtual dust in the binary void. Occasionally I’ll listen to one, but mostly they just sit there in the dark, doing whatever zeros and ones do when left entirely to their own devices. It’s the…

View original post 183 more words

