Memoirs of a Hayseed Physicist by Peter Martel

swo8

Part 22:
My First University:
In English, my final standing was fourth in a class of two hundred and fifty. My marks in physics was a non-spectacular fifty, in part because I had spent the weekends from Friday to Sunday night working for a large department store. This was a calamity of sorts, because my mother had contacted an old school friend of hers on my behalf at the Nova Scotia Research Foundation – a provincial laboratory specializing in Geophysics. This friend had accepted my mother’s word that I was a genius and had recommended me to the head of the Geophysics section – a man who might hire me for invaluable summer work.

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 12.54.31 PM

With permission of the author. This is an on going story one paragraph at a time beginning on the post of July 6th. We will get back to our music and art after this little break.

View original post

